The Before Trilogy (1)
Series Info | Table of Contents

The Before Trilogy is a series of films directed by Richard Linklater, which chronicle a 19 year period within the lives of a man and a woman, named Jesse and Celine. The films are romantic dramas that focus on the relationship between the two, and the way in which it evolves over time, while affected by various circumstances.

The first film is Before Sunrise, and is set on June 16th, 1994. A young American man - Jesse (Ethan Hawke) - is on a train from Budapest. A young French woman – Celine - is travelling on the same train, and moves seats to avoid an arguing couple sitting opposite her. Jesse strikes up a conversation, and invites Celine to join him the buffet car for coffee.

The two spend time chatting and getting to know one another – discussing experiences relat...

Please subscribe to keep reading.

Table of Contents

Series Info